Tasmanian Botanics was the big winner at the Cannabiz Awards for Australia and New Zealand 2024 last night, taking home the Cultivator, Manufacturer and Company of the Year trophies.

The Tasmanian Botanics team celebrate their success with Michael Sassano (far right), founder of headline sponsor Somai Pharmaceuticals

Kind Medical collected two awards for Best Place to Work and Medical Science Liaison Team of the Year while Biortica Agrimed also scored twice for Business Leader of the Year (Tom Varga) and Best Industry Newcomer (Kathleen Ward).

Dr Orit Holtzman was named Prescribing Healthcare Practitioner of the Year, Deb Ranson took out the inaugural Nurse of the Year award and Emily Rigby won in the Industry Advancement category.

Companies recognised on the night included Heyday Medical (Clinic of the Year), RAYS Wellness (Dispensary/Pharmacy of the Year), Bod Science (R&D Project of the Year), and OMG Pharma (Launch of the Year).  

The awards were judged by 35 senior industry figures in a rigorous, two-stage process, and presented in front of a sold-out audience in Melbourne.

The judges said of Tasmanian Botanics: “In a stellar year, strong revenue growth was underpinned by an industry-leading business model that maximises the quality-to-value ratio for patients. 

“Tasmanian Botanics’ ongoing commitment to community leadership by building a local workforce in a low socio-economic area is a testament to the ethics underpinning the company.”  

Check out the winners’ gallery and all the photos from the night here.

The full list of award winners:

Hemp Product of the Year

WINNER: Cannabella Hemp Jelly – Cannabella

Cannabiz Award for Innovation

WINNER: Humacology oils

Best Use of Technology

WINNER: CanView – Vitura Health

Best Education or Engagement Initiative

WINNER: Medihuanna

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Australian & New Zealand College of Cannabinoid Practitioners

Clinic of the Year 

WINNER: Heyday Medical


Dispensary/Pharmacy of the Year 


Best Patient-Focused Initiative 

WINNER: The Driving Forward Campaign – Astrid

Environmental, Social & Governance Award

WINNER: ECS Botanics

Launch of the Year 

WINNER: OMG Topical Pain-Relief Salve – OMG Pharma

R&D Project of the Year

WINNER: Bod BioAbsorb 27.5mg Soft-gel Capsules – Bod Science

HIGHLY COMMENDED: The Solace Vape – Australian Natural Therapeutics Group

Cultivator of the Year

WINNER: Tasmanian Botanics

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Australian Natural Therapeutics Group

Manufacturer of the Year

WINNER: Tasmanian Botanics

Best Place to Work

WINNER: Kind Medical

Best Industry Newcomer

WINNER: Kathleen Ward – Biortica Agrimed

Prescribing Healthcare Practitioner of the Year

WINNER: Dr Orit Holtzman – Leura Wellness

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Lisa Dick – Health104

Nurse of the Year  

WINNER: Deb Ranson – Australian Medicinal Cannabis Association

Cannabiz Award for Industry Collaboration

WINNER: CBD Vets Australia

Cannabiz Award for Industry Advancement

WINNER: Emily Rigby

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Australian Medicinal Cannabis Symposium – United in Compassion 

Medical Science Liaison Team of the Year

WINNER: Kind Medical

Start-up Company of the Year

WINNER: Green Life Clinics & Dispensaries

Business Leader of the Year

WINNER: Tom Varga – Biortica Agrimed

Company of the Year

WINNER: Tasmanian Botanics

Leave a comment