The medicinal cannabis industry has secured a direct route into the heart of Federal politics in a move that could accelerate awareness of the sector among decision-makers in Canberra.

Join the Cannabiz revolution

Want to stay ahead of the cannabis curve with the latest local and international news, analysis and intelligence and access to Australia's legal cannabis industry?

This article is included with our Premium subscription.

The formation of a Parliamentary Friends of Medicinal Cannabis Group will provide the industry with a non-partisan forum to consult with and discuss the needs and challenges of the sector.

Steve has reported for a number of consumer and B2B titles over a journalism career spanning more than three decades. He is a regulator contributor to health journal, The Medical Republic, writing on...