ECS Botanics has taken out the Best Place to Work and Cultivator or Manufacturer of the Year trophies at the inaugural Cannabiz Awards 2023, while CEO Nan-Maree Schoerie was named Business Leader of the Year.

Business leader of the Year: Nan-Maree Schoerie

Astrid Dispensary won for Dispensary or Pharmacy and Company of the Year, while Little Green Pharma scored twice for R&D Project of the Year (the QUEST Initiative with the University of Sydney) and Best Patient-Focused Initiative (for the firm’s compassionate access scheme).

Meanwhile Puro New Zealand led the charge from across the Tasman, picking up the Environmental, Social and Governance and Industry Collaboration awards (with Helius Therapeutics).

In the individual categories, Dr James Stewart was named Prescribing Healthcare Practitioner of the Year, Phoebe Macleod took out the Best Industry Newcomer award, and Lucy Haslam won for Patient Advocate of the Year.

Companies recognised on the night included Vitura Health (for CanView), Medcan (for Cann I Help) and ANTG (for Product Launch of the Year) while Biortica Agrimed was named Start-Up Company of the Year.

The awards were judged independently by 36 senior industry figures and presented in front of a sold-out audience at Melbourne’s Showtime Events Centre.

They were sponsored by Tasmanian Botanics, Bod Science, Pharmalytics, Standard Botanic, Oz Medicann Group and CMI Safe Company, with support from MCIA, AMCA and ETAA.

The judges said of Schoerie: “Leaders’ tasks can change every minute, but the attitude and manner in which they are executed demonstrate the values they hold. 

“Nan-Maree represents an extremely compassionate, caring and determined leader who ensures that business is not just what it says on the balance sheet.”

The full list of award winners:

Clinic or Telehealth Service of the Year

WINNER: Cann I Help

Dispensary or Pharmacy of the Year

WINNER: Astrid Dispensary

Best Patient-Focused Initiative

WINNER: Little Green Pharma’s Compassionate Access Scheme

Patient Advocate of the Year

WINNER: Lucy Haslam, United in Compassion/Australian Medicinal Cannabis Association

Environmental, Social and Governance Award

WINNER: Puro New Zealand 

Product Launch of the Year

WINNER: Australian Natural Therapeutics Group

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Helius Therapeutics

Hemp Product of the Year

WINNER: Hemp Oz Kombucha

R&D Project of the Year

WINNER: Little Green Pharma with The University of Sydney – The QUEST Initiative

Cultivator/Manufacturer of the Year

WINNER: ECS Botanics

Best Industry Newcomer

WINNER: Phoebe Macleod, Heyday Medical

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Olivia Lackmann, Dr Shu Medical Services

Prescribing Healthcare Practitioner of the Year

WINNER: Dr James Stewart, Herbal Health Clinics 

Best Place to Work

WINNER: ECS Botanics

Cannabiz Award for Innovation


Cannabiz Award for Industry Advancement

WINNER: Fiona Patten

Cannabiz Award for Industry Collaboration

WINNER: Puro New Zealand and Helius Therapeutics

Best Education/Engagement Initiative 

WINNER: Medihuanna

Medical Science Liaison Team of the Year

WINNER: Althea

Start-up Company of the Year

WINNER: Biortica Agrimed

Company of the Year

WINNER: Astrid Dispensary

Business Leader of the Year

WINNER: Nan-Maree Schoerie, ECS Botanics

Prior to launching Cannabiz, Martin was co-founder and CEO of Asia-Pac’s leading B2B media and marketing information brand Mumbrella, overseeing its sale to Diversified Communications in 2017. A journalist...

Leave a comment